My Labor Day

Most people enjoy grill-outs, a summer day at the lake & spending time with loved ones while looking forward to a short work week. For me, Labor Day, is when I lost 2 of my best friends – Mike & Bobby <3.

Trust me, I’ve spent way too much time deciding whether to publish this post or not, but at the end of the day writing helps me release…

September 1, 2012 marks 10 years since the world lost 2 carefree, intelligent best friends and heaven gained 2 of my life treasures. It’s been an entire decade since I saw them face to face, and I feel just as broken as September 1, 2002 when I was told I wouldn’t see them again.

My heart will never heal, nor do I want it to. I believe the guilt I feel from walking away from that car wreck is my drive in life – I want to make them proud.

This year, I prayed … not for comfort, not for peace, but for purpose. Do you know what God told me … tell people why you admired them so much.

One of my favorite quotes: “Some pursue happiness, other create it” – describes one of my favorite characteristics in Mike & Bobby perfectly. It wasn’t about what hand they were dealt, it was what they could create from it. They were both in high school with real dreams … a vision. When I was thinking about what to wear tomorrow, they were making plans & achieving their goals. Mike and Bobby both pushed me to be my best. I enrolled in hard classes and always had a job to prove myself to the world. I adored them both, but I also loved who I wanted to be when I was around them. They wanted me to succeed, and I can’t say that about many of the friends I’ve had in my life.

I can feel my emotions filling my body … it’s so difficult to talk about them, I want to be strong, but all I feel is my weakness.

I don’t expect anyone to understand, I can’t dissect it myself ❤

God Bless,
Angela

1 Thessalonians 5:9-11
For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ,  who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up”

Leave a Reply

