Bitter Comparison.

heartflower.jpg

Lately, I’ve been praying for more energy. Not being able to keep up makes me feel so defeated.

I add to my pity party, by comparing myself to women who seem to have the energy to tackle everything. I top my “poor me sundae” by freaking out that I don’t even have children yet. You guessed it, I then go and compare myself to all the working moms out there who can do it all & how I can’t … without kids. To sum up this long vicious cycle, I end up in my dark place. And just so you know, my dark place is curled up in a blanket, consumed by my fears &  feeling EVEN WORSE that I’m in no way being productive.

“Comparison is the thief of joy.”
– Theodore Roosevelt

Since I started praying about my struggle, I can feel God inserting motivation in my life.

Below is a little list I’ve compiled after talking to some of my favorite people:

  • Say “No Thank You”
    • Time is limited, it’s okay to say no thanks
  • Give myself GRACE
    • It’s not failing if I can’t do it all … stop comparing myself to others.
  • Host Productive Gatherings:
    • Baking parties, make natural cleaner parties, walk parties and pamper parties: facials, mani/pedi, etc.
  • Let people know when I’m overwhelmed … they’ll understand & maybe even relate

“Be who you are & say what you mean.
Because those who mind don’t matter & those who matter don’t mind”
– Dr. Seuss

  • Don’t get consumed by what society says is the “correct way”
  • Remember God will provide the energy I need, if I just focus on what’s important

brickflower.jpg

Having strong, intense emotions that are outwardly visible is apart of me. It’s rare you have to guess my mood – I’m pretty  much an open book when it comes to whats occupying my heart & thoughts. Something very simply can make my entire day and bring me so much joy, but in return, something negative can haunt me and take over my thoughts. If I don’t take time to pause & process my feelings, I end up in my dark place.

I never want anyone to think I highlight only the good on this blog to cover the bad. I’m using “Capturing Simplicity” to document the happy in my life, so I have a place to always visit & smile. I have a personal journal for my hard moments, but I don’t mind sharing pieces. I wouldn’t appreciate beauty, so deeply, if I never experienced brokenness.

garden.jpg

Thanks to the gorgeous details in the world around me, my family/friends, and of course Jesus … I’m learning & growing everyday <3.

“Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given,
and then sink yourself into that… Don’t compare yourself with others.”
Galatians 6:4

Feeling blessed,
Angela

 

8 Comments to “Bitter Comparison.”

  1. You are one of the most beautiful people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing! If you do compare yourself to others surely you come out on top!
    One of my favorite sayings is by Emerson and goes like this: “To laugh often and much. To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children. To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded. You are successful, you bring a lot of sunshine into my days.

  2. As always, LUV your pictures 🙂 More than that, love you! These particular words are the truest form of who you really are-no comparison out there! They are REAL words, about a REAL person willing to step out there and share a REAL heart. I appreciate that SO much!!! No plastic flowers in this blog 🙂 We all have only one life to live, one life to make a difference-it is no wonder Jesus said comparing is pointless, who has time for that? I believe your blog is where you are meant to be, it seems like the sweet spot for you. It’s perfect girly. 🙂 Auntie J

  3. Ang-la, love your post today. Such a wonderful contrast pic starting it, too, of “pity party’ versus “happy party.” : ) Your words made me think of Philippians 6…”And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” You are a beautiful flower in HIs garden who is “Capturing” the important things in life! Thank you for sharing your heart.

    • I knew I’d get around to answering that bitter email I received (;

      Thanks for your always sweet words! I always feel refreshed after spending some time with Pam-la ❤

  4. Hi Angela, Thank you so much for sharing this post. I can relate to you 100% and really needed to hear/read this today. Thank you for being open to share this personal part of you. It matters more than you probably realize. We tend to see on most social media all the good stuff and not the real stuff of day to day living with the various struggles we all face at some point in our life. And the discouragment of comparing ourselves to others. I am so guilty of this.

    Thank you for your encouraging words and beautiful photography to as you say “Capture Simplicity”. You’re blog is great!

    Blessings,

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

