A Loud Whisper

Somewhere in this constantly worried, Type A, overbearing mind, I’ve grown.
Until recently, I spent 90% of my energy trying to control outcomes, having little faith in anything, but myself.
I’m so far from being completely cured, but walking my path to get it right has begun.

blackandwhite{Photo credit: Pam, writer of Tender Mercies}

Someone once asked me how God spoke to me, I was completely caught off guard by that question.
Truthfully, I was a gray Christian for longer than I’d like to admit, and didn’t listen for God.
Taking control of everything, exhausting myself to get everything right … I didn’t have time to listen.
The energy I wasted struggling to stay afloat, when I had more help than I ever knew right beside me.
On our journey to simplify our lives, somewhere in the decluttering, I started hearing Him.
It’s not a voice, but an emotion that takes over.
Somehow a struggle is clear, although at times the journey to overcome it will still be hard,
you know you’re not in it alone.

bud.jpg

two{Photo credit: Pam, writer of Tender Mercies}

My most recent conversation with Him was in a whimsical graveyard, protected by His peace.
As I walked through the rows, I thought about how much loss touches people’s journeys.
I never had the pleasure of knowing the two people we went to visit, but I’ve grown to adore the lady missing them.

The old me would’ve searched for ways to make it better,
ask why and even gotten angry to how this happened to such a sweet lady and her loved ones.
The growing me heard God say, listen for my message, be still.
The product of her pain is the woman you know today, look to her solid faith as a Christ like example of courage.
Instead of asking why this happened, study how she made it through.
You’ve prayed for Godly women in your life, she’s a beautiful believer to observe.

rosee.jpg

 She’s overcome brokenness, by counting her blessings with smiles every single day.
How her journey has shaped her into someone constantly aware of others needs.
A Christian capable of using devastation to witness and empower hurting hearts.
To observe the grace of God, in a servants flourishing heart , when you’d assume it’d shrink from throbbing.
I can’t relate to her grieving, but somewhere in that graveyard, my faith multiplied from it <3.

xo/angela

light.jpg

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.
I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.”

John 10:27-28

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”
Philippians 4:6-7

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.”
Psalms 32:8-9

butterfly2 {Photo credit: Pam, writer of Tender Mercies}

5 Comments to “A Loud Whisper”

  1. Ang-la, I always look forward to your posts but this mornings left me in tears, tears of blessing. I love your description of the graveyard “protected by His Peace” and I love that you walk, too, protected by His Peace. I’m blessed to be a part of your life. When I lost Jan, I prayed for daughters. He sent Steph and then you. Count me so, so blessed. Thank you so much for the sweet post. Glad you liked those pics. : )

    • You’re so beautiful inside and out Pam-la ❤ Anyone would be so lucky just to know you (: I really admire what you've overcome and how you graciously give the victory to the Lord ❤

  2. Thank you Angela for this encouraging post. It’s amazing – what you are saying through this journal entry speaks to what I am going through in my life at this time. I keep waiting to “hear” a message from God for direction but maybe it is an emotion as you say. I need to stop asking why this is happening…. but accept that this is part of my journey. Blessings, Kathy

    • Sweet Kathy, thank you so much for your comment. Your comments always make my exposed heart happy I left some of it on this blog (: I don’t know your current struggle, but keep taking it to Him! I encourage you to write, sometimes His message comes out in black and white ❤ sending you hugs and praying for you my sister in Christ.

  3. Great post!!! Hugs 2 u!

Leave a Reply

